Pete Rock – Cosmic Slop (Official Video)

Taken from the upcoming album “Petestrumentals 2″coming on Mello Music Group June 23, 2015.

Directed by Jay Brown & Zack Kashkett


Peep the info from Mellomusicgroup:

Pete Rock was raised in Mount Vernon, but his face belongs on Mount Rushmore. The Chocolate Boy Wonder perfected an art form, inspired millions, and soundtracked a generation. By contrast, Teddy Roosevelt seems like a chump.

This is the man who Dilla told, “I wanted to be like you.” Kanye once called himself the “new Pete Rock.” But the original Pete Rock remains permanently vital. The evidence bangs in his latest opus, Petestrumentals 2, the sequel to the 2001 classic that helped define the hip-hop instrumental record. It marks the legend’s first album on Mello Music Group, a fitting union between the author of the boom-bap blueprint and the label that’s expanded upon his legacy.

Describing Pete Rock’s productions do them little justice. They resonate in your gut, heart, and brain. The title of one of these beats says it all: “Makes Me Feel Like.” You fill in the blanks based on your personal experience and current mood.

Petestrumentals 2 conjures memories of BBQ cookouts and 70s Blaxploitation scores, rattling summer jeep cruises and blunted Jamaican vacations. There’s a gorgeous requiem to Dilla (“Dilla Bounce (R.I.P),” where the originator pays tribute to the prodigy. You see the full range of Rock’s gifts on display: the meticulously chopped horns, unquantized drums, and air raid sirens. It contains the emotion of a thousand eulogies.
No record can’t be resurrected. There’s no sub-genre or era that can’t be converted into Rock’s singular brand of soul. His music is the closest thing we’ll ever get to a time-traveling DeLorean, effortlessly shifting between past, present, and future.

For the last 20 years, hip-hop heads have argued over the best Pete Rock original productions and remixes. Is it “They Reminisce Over You” or the “Shut ‘Em Down Remix?” Do you prefer Soul Survivor or the first Petestrumentals, his work with INI or the UN? His catalogue can’t be compressed into a bio; you need a book.
This is the latest chapter—an even 20 slaps and rhythmic levitations. It’s Pete Rock at his best, accelerating and kicking cosmic slop, extending wishes, hope, love, gritty drums and eternal wonder.


Throwback Thursdays – Sunz Of Man Feat. Killarmy: Soldiers Of Darkness

I really dug both groups back in the day. They had that rugged shit/deep in the mental style locked down. I’ll have to dig in my collection to re-rock all their joints soon. 4th Disciple has always been a solid producer. I don’t think he gets the credit he deserves. Enjoy.

William Cooper ft Planet Asia “Morpheus Prophecies” (Produced by BP)

“God’s Will” i-Tunes pre-order:

Peep the info below and get ready for more gems being dropped on May 5th. Enjoy.

In the groundbreaking box-office giant, The Matrix, Morpheus explains to Neo that the Matrix is an illusionary world designed to prevent humans from discovering that they are slaves to an outside influence. William Cooper and west coast veteran Planet Asia join forces on “Morpheus Prophecies” to echo Morpheus’ wisdom from the 1999 film. “The red or blue pill, chose your reality”, is what Cooper spits on the song’s hook, followed by, “…down the rabbit hole we go, knowledge is wealth…”. William Cooper and PA Medallions clearly slang the red pill (the truth) over a BP produced head-nodder sharing timeless knowledge of the mysterious matrix that we all seem to play a part in. “Morpheous Prophecies” is on William Cooper’s album “God’s Will” due out May 5th.

Saga – Eye (Official Video)

‘From Out of the Shadows’ (Free Download):

Peep the info:

Rather than becoming preoccupied with the past, and worrying about the future, Brooklyn’s rising talent, Saga, knows that the only way to successfully move through life, and efficiently adapt to change, is by carefully anticipating his next move. “Eye,” the third video taken from Saga’s debut effort, ‘From Out of the Shadows,’ brings forth his efforts as an artist that can rock with both street wise hustlers, and story-rap purists. He’s a product of ’90s Boom bap culture, a style immediately showcased on this cut that puts you into the heart of the action. As he drops a barrage of lyrics over a delicate piano riff and snappy drums, produced by the Brooklyn by way of Toronto beatsmith, Marco Polo, Saga gives us a glimpse of Chinatown’s beauty, bouncing between bright open alleyways, and dark storefronts illuminated by neon signs. Be sure to add, ‘From Out of the Shadows’ to your playlist, which is now available for free download, courtesy of AudioMack.

• Artist: Saga
• TItle: “Eye”
• Produced by: Marco Polo
• Director: Fred Focus
• Album: From Out Of The Shadows
• Release Date: April 10, 2015
• Label: N/A

• AudioMack:
• SoundCloud:

Saga Online:
• Web:
• Saga:
• Instagram:
• Facebook:
• Soundcloud: